Securing the Fort – Internet

Fort Ross blockhouse
Kyp and I are researchers. We got to work researching that very night to find the best way to secure our home.

While Harry had snuck through a loophole, we knew we needed a tighter security to help prevent this from happening again.

Computer Location

I started researching desks to put into our kitchen.  I had heard this advice a thousand times before, but I didn’t really have room or want it there.  But now I saw the wisdom.

We had an open office door policy.  But the door was open when I found him.  So that didn’t really work.

I had to adjust to the idea of a computer in our kitchen.  Buying the right desk was the first step.  Deciding which computer to put there was next.  The Mac won that lucky spot.

Kyp started researching different blocks for the computer.

Global Coverage Via DNS

I admit I don’t really know what DNS is, but Kyp was impressed.  So our first step was OpenDNS.  There is a free version for families.  It helps block things on a global level, including anything going through your wireless, including iPod Touches, etc. That may have helped when Harry bypassed the individual computer solutions.

Individual Computer Coverage

Then we installed Safe Eyes on all the other computers, except our new Mac and I put a password on my Laptop.  For the Mac we went with NetNanny, we heard that worked better with the Mac.

So far I will admit I prefer NetNanny over SafeEyes and when our Safe Eyes expires we may switch all the computers to NetNanny.

iTouch Coverage

It amazes me how many parents give there kids a cell phone or iTouch or something like it and put no safeguards on it.  Our boys have one iTouch that they all share.  It is downstairs on the charger every night and it is played only on the weekend and in public locations.  But when I started researching, I realized we need some sort of protection on the iTouch.

The first few things we did were easy and free

  • Go to Settings
  • Select General
  • Select Restrictions – set up a password
  • We made it so the boys can’t use You Tube or Safari
  • We could set levels for the type of music they can buy, the apps they can buy, etc.

We also installed a Mobicip App which gives us added control.

Leave a Reply

