Organizing the Fridge!

I have confessed I don’t like to cook, so I will confess that means I often have food in my fridge I bought, meaning to cook with it, that has gone bad and clutters it up.

So when I saw the Project Simplify had a new challenge this week of cleaning up the fridge, I had to do it!   I also found this other Orgnanizing Site Organizing Junkie, that has a 52 week challenge and while I am late in starting in, I may try this too.

So killing 2 birds with one stone – here is my

CLUTTERED FRIDGE

Cluttered Freezer

I have a love/hate relationship with my fridge.  I love having water on the door, but hate having a side by side fridge/freezer.  The freezer is not intuitive to organize.  Also as a funny side note. I found 6 bags of frozen peas scattered throughout my freezer.

I took everything out and threw out quite a bit of it.  Then I organized like with like.

Last summer I made a condiment box, which I loved.  We eat outside a lot in the summer and grill.  So I put all the things we bring outside in a cute box, which the boys carry out.  Works great!

So I decided to make “lunch boxes” where I put the boys lunch supplies in one and my lunch supplies in the other. It has been working great this week!

Then I put the things back into the fridge!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Clean Freezer – I used the pizza boxes to make a shelf above the baskets and that helped a bit.  And I put all the peas together!

Now I know what I have and know what I need too.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by allysgrandma on 04/02/2011 at 11:27 am

    It seems like since so much of home life is in the kitchen that starting with the frig is a great idea!! My husband did all the cooking for over 30 years, but now that I am home, I am cooking and finding I am enjoying it more than when I tried when I was younger. Plus I have a strong aversion to wasting money, especially in this economy and being newly disabled. That is an incentive! I love your box ideas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

