Got Too Many Stinky Shoes!

I wish we had a real entryway.  A real place to put all our shoes.

But instead we have a little area behind our couch which I created.

However you can see we are overflowing with shoes.  And I have boys so they are stinky!

Why is it so hard to put shoes INTO the organizer?

I decided maybe we just had too many shoes.  So I got them all out and was able to throw away 2 very old pairs that didn’t fit anyone any more.  I also put the church shoes in a different location.  Then I figured out the organizer has 5 columns with 3 rows.  So we each could have 3 pairs in the bottom and keep our daily shoes in the basket!

I told the boys the new organization strategy and honestly it has worked for a few days.

We can actually walk back here now.

Shoes in their spots and only key ones in the basket!

8 responses to this post.

  1. What a difference! We have a shoe problem too, but we don’t have anywhere to hide our shoes…I like that shoe organizer, but I’d rather have something with a cover…but that looks better than our current (non-existent) system!

    Reply

  2. Posted by allysgrandma on 04/10/2011 at 10:40 am

    I threw away 3 pairs of shoes this week too! Your area looks really good. I should get a shoe organizer for our entryway. I have to admit DH’s shoes off policy in our livingroom worked really well for a long time. When I get new carpet, I will probably do it again and that shoe organizer would be good to have!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sue B on 04/10/2011 at 5:06 pm

    I found your blog via OrgJunkie… I laughed right out loud when I read your blog title & description…. Are you sure you don’t live in my house? lol We had a similar problem. I ended up getting a 9-hole cubby that had 4 baskets with it… There are 4 of us & we each have a cubby & a basket to put our shoes & ‘extra’ stuff (mittens, hats, bike helmets, etc)… It’s worked pretty well… and we’ve been at it for almost 2 months!! Keep up the good work!

    Reply

  4. Love your post on shoes as well as the post on the hummer. THe one on the hummer made me laugh so hard. Shoes. Oh my! I am called a shoe haorse. so i wont go there. Mys shoes out number us all here.
    Under my bed in the closet in the bins you name it.
    Love your post.
    Visiting from A-Z Challenge
    Blessings

    Reply

  5. Looks great. OH THE SHOES, they are everywhere!! and we only have 1 child, lol! I need hubby to make a new shoe rack for us; I just can’t find anything for shoes that I like, in the size that I need.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

